Drumroll, please…

So because apparently I don’t understand the phrase, “don’t count your chickens before they hatch”, I have held off for a long time this announcement.

Awhile ago, I officially knew that I would not be attending college for the coming year. You, dear wonderful readers, already know this. You also may know that one of my options was to become a trainee with Ballet Palm Beach.

Well, fanfare please *fanfare of trumpets in the distance*, I have made my decision. I have taken that terrifying leap, that fated first step that, well, you know- I have signed the contract.

For the 2015-2016 season, I will be a trainee dancer with Ballet Palm Beach!

Actually, in truth I signed my contract awhile ago. But, if you go back to the opening of this post, I wanted to be sure. (Although I’m not sure what’s more certain than a signed contract. An Unbreakable Vow maybe?)

I have to say, even though I did want to have college as a transition point into living in the “real world” like the rest of my peers, I am very excited. Ballet Palm Beach has a very cool upcoming season that I can’t wait to be a part of, including Gatsby, Nutcracker, and Cinderella, as well as other works. I’m really happy to be able to be part of more full-length ballets (although Florida Dance Theatre is doing Dracula and Midsummer’s next season, so that is awesome too). Ballet Palm Beach is a small but growing company like FDT, but in the impression I have gotten does more classical works, which is just awesome for me.

So, in just a couple weeks I will be living 3 hours from my parents, in a new city, with a new dance company, a new roommate, new job, and not to mention a lot of these are for the first time! But I’m going to be just fine. Out of the chaos of the last few months is comin something wonderful. I just know it. 

4 Comments

  1. Congratulations!!! Not that I didn’t want you to attend college, but I really wanted you to dance because I wish I had done that and because I know how much you love it! Please don’t stop posting! I want to hear how it all turns out. (Heh, no pun intended.) Big huge congratulations. You can get a college education many ways and down the line. Very excited for you!

    Like

    • Thank you very much!! It really means a lot to me to hear this kind of support. I get so many mixed reactions, so I’ve had to learn to tune out the negative ones. Thanks for adding to the pile of positive!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck. I always admire young dancers who pursue their dreams. I know a few who put college off so they wouldn’t have any regrets. Have fun, enjoy the journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for the warm well-wishes! And enjoying the journey is number one on my to-do list πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

Nadia In Her Own World

Anything that moves

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Candelescent

Creativity after twilight

Danadinomyte

Figuring Out Life, One Mistake At A Time

Ivan Proust

I'm Ivan. And that's not my real name.

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

Megan Elizabeth

Creative Imaginations

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

BalletScoop

become the dancer of your dreams

THE 109th BEAD

The ridiculous adventures of a clumsy grown-up discovering dance.

The Dance Well Project

To Dance is to Connect

The Legal Ballerina

The unique experience of learning ballet in my 30's!

loveballet89

A fine WordPress.com site

Adult Beginner

It's not pΓΈrn; it's ballet

Poets & Pirouettes

A thirtysomething amateur rediscovers her love of dance and poetry in everyday mo(ve)ments.

Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

A Ballet Education

An education in ballet, it's not just tutus and tiaras

balletandorbust

The fun and challenges of ballet as a top-heavy, adult novice

