Wait, what? Cruise ship audition!

One of my goals for the new year was to jump on all opportunities that came my way, and I have to say I’m not doing that bad a job of it.

After the audition…I’m still happy and laughing!

On Saturday I went with a couple of friends to audition to be a dancer on a cruise ship. Wait, what? Yes, it is not usually ballet, but why not?

I had never been to a cruise ship audition, and it was quite an experience. We were 30 dancers taught a fast-paced jazzy combination very quickly. I say jazzy because it was a mix of styles. One of my friends made it past the halfway cut and told me the contemporary combo was difficult but a stretch to call contemporary per se, but I guess the blend of styles is normal for cruise performers.

I did not make it past the first cut, but it did not surprise me. I was the youngest person in the room, and I have little training in jazz and hip hop. Maybe if the contemporary was first I might have made it farther. But I was quite proud of myself. I picked up the combination as well as anyone else, and only when we did it the second time did I mess up and forget parts of it (oops.) But even then I kept going and smoothed over the questionable bits.

All in all, considering I was as new to this as performing aerial silks or walking on stilts (I want to try both!), I think I did pretty well. I really only auditioned at the request of my friend who wanted some company, and for the experience. And in the future, who knows? Cruise ship dancers get paid quite a lot, and get to travel quite a bit as well. It isn’t ballet, but I could see myself doing it for a year or two at some point.

Closing comments? I have to again ask you to go to my fundraising page! I am still hoping perhaps to go to University of Cincinnati. There is a chance that some money could be freed up towards the end of the month from students who deny scholarships and attendance. And if I still cannot go to this wonderful school, I will use the money to further my dancing and schooling in other ways. Thank you for your help!

Leave a Reply

Nadia In Her Own World

Anything that moves

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Candelescent

Creativity after twilight

Danadinomyte

Figuring Out Life, One Mistake At A Time

Ivan Proust

I'm Ivan. And that's not my real name.

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

Megan Elizabeth

Creative Imaginations

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

BalletScoop

become the dancer of your dreams

THE 109th BEAD

The ridiculous adventures of a clumsy grown-up discovering dance.

The Dance Well Project

To Dance is to Connect

The Legal Ballerina

The unique experience of learning ballet in my 30's!

loveballet89

A fine WordPress.com site

Adult Beginner

It's not pΓΈrn; it's ballet

Poets & Pirouettes

A thirtysomething amateur rediscovers her love of dance and poetry in everyday mo(ve)ments.

Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

A Ballet Education

An education in ballet, it's not just tutus and tiaras

balletandorbust

The fun and challenges of ballet as a top-heavy, adult novice

