Music mishap in a small town show

IMG_0248 ^That poster behind me? Yeah, I’m the girl in red.

My company had a performance in Frostproof today, a small town (small city?) in Florida. I honestly love small town shows, because though the audience is small, they sincerely love our performance and are happy that we came.

I performed the third act gamzatti variation for the show that I had done for competition last year, and I was happy for the chance to perform it again. The only bad thing was that when the music came on, it was not mine. I don’t know how it could have happened, but while the music was the right variation, it was not the track I had been rehearsing to. The music was sped up for most of the variation, except for the ending which was excruciatingly slow. I think I still performed well under the circumstances, but it was uncomfortable and needless to say I was a bit upset.

But despite the music mishap, chilly theatre and wood floor devoid of marley, I still love performing. Maybe not this performance in particular, but that’s okay.

Conclusion: small towns are awesome to perform for, and I faked it till I made it through the show.

4 Comments

  1. Oh so painful. You are a true professional–show must go on. And a story you’ll never forget…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, and part of the reason I posted it was so I wouldn’t forget.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh no! Good on you for keeping cool and dancing through it though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, it truly is the show must go on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Nadia In Her Own World

Anything that moves

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Candelescent

Creativity after twilight

Danadinomyte

Figuring Out Life, One Mistake At A Time

Ivan Proust

I'm Ivan. And that's not my real name.

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

Megan Elizabeth

Creative Imaginations

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

BalletScoop

become the dancer of your dreams

THE 109th BEAD

The ridiculous adventures of a clumsy grown-up discovering dance.

The Dance Well Project

To Dance is to Connect

The Legal Ballerina

The unique experience of learning ballet in my 30's!

loveballet89

A fine WordPress.com site

Adult Beginner

It's not pΓΈrn; it's ballet

Poets & Pirouettes

A thirtysomething amateur rediscovers her love of dance and poetry in everyday mo(ve)ments.

Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

A Ballet Education

An education in ballet, it's not just tutus and tiaras

balletandorbust

The fun and challenges of ballet as a top-heavy, adult novice

