Dancers Among Us and Arabesque pics

So there is this awesome professional photography project called Dancers Among Us. It’s worth checking out no matter if you are a dancer or know nothing about dance at all. On a related note, many young dancers have their own version of this.

Look at any young dancer’s instagram or facebook page, and you are almost guaranteed to find photos of them dancing in the “real world” (in this case referencing every place outside the studio we live in). If that dancer does ballet, my bet is that dancer photo is an arabesque picture. (Arabesque: standing leg straight, straight leg extended to the back, preferably as high as possible).

Now, for the longest time I have had a hard time with my extensions, or the height of my leg.Β EspeciallyΒ my arabesque. Or, if I could get my leg up, it would be turned in. Thankfully, in the last year or two I have become more content with my arabesque. While it may not be as high as some of my friends, it is much better and the line is one I can be proud of. I also make it a point to never “cheat”, so that makes me feel good.

The point is that now I finally feel good about taking those stereotypical dancer arabesque pictures wherever I happen to be. Albeit a bit late, but hey, I’m not going to take a bad picture and post it online (at least not if I’m trying my best to look good).

So, here is my arabesque picture from when my family and I went to the zoo on New Year’s Eve, in all it’s stereotypical ballet dancer glory:

dreamingofsugarplumsArabesqueZoo

And yes, the Christmas/Nutcracker decor still up just made this an irresistibly perfect photo op.

Bonus points: leggings and combat boots might as well be the unofficial dress code of my old high school dance department.

2 Comments

  1. I just ordered the book Dancers Among Us! I’m so excited for it to arrive. Your arabesque is gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nice buy, and thank you, that means a lot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Nadia In Her Own World

Anything that moves

D.S. MCKNIGHT

Author of Young Adult Fiction

Candelescent

Creativity after twilight

Danadinomyte

Figuring Out Life, One Mistake At A Time

Ivan Proust

I'm Ivan. And that's not my real name.

Impromptu Promptlings

and peculiar ponderings...

Megan Elizabeth

Creative Imaginations

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

BalletScoop

become the dancer of your dreams

THE 109th BEAD

The ridiculous adventures of a clumsy grown-up discovering dance.

The Dance Well Project

To Dance is to Connect

The Legal Ballerina

The unique experience of learning ballet in my 30's!

loveballet89

A fine WordPress.com site

Adult Beginner

It's not pΓΈrn; it's ballet

Poets & Pirouettes

A thirtysomething amateur rediscovers her love of dance and poetry in everyday mo(ve)ments.

Ballet Shoes & Mickey Ears

The happenings of this Disney-obsessed runner and dancer!

A Ballet Education

An education in ballet, it's not just tutus and tiaras

balletandorbust

The fun and challenges of ballet as a top-heavy, adult novice

